Uncategorized

Goodbye comfort zone!

The Scotiabank Half Marathon is next weekend and I’m starting to think ‘what have I gotten myself into?!’
I basically took 3.5 weeks off from running because of my annoying IT band issue and became discouraged about 10 days into it and have seriously slacked on my cross-training. :/
Now that my knee is feeling better – it’s at about 80% atm – I’ve been doing my runs outside instead of on the treadmill.
Running outside is not something that I do. I love my treadmill and its consistency and how there are no bugs or cold winds or puddles to step in and how it holds my water bottle for me.

I’m a wimp when it comes to running outside.

When I first started running it was outside and I always felt like people were staring at me and judging my walk breaks I used to take. Even now that I can run for what I consider a decent distance before feeling like my legs are going to collapse (it’s always my legs that give out before my lungs lol) I still feel self-conscious and judged when running outside.

But I’m forcing myself out of my comfort zone.

As insignificant of a change as it may seem, I think it will make me a stronger runner. Even though I’m super nervous and feeling underprepared for the ScotiaHalf next weekend, I’m already thinking about doing this half as my next one!
3 thoughts on “Goodbye comfort zone!

  1. Good for you for stepping out of your comfort zone! I know it’s scary, but really, we live in such a self-absorbed city that everyone is too busy minding their own business to notice your walk breaks 😉 I’m doing the Rock n Roll half, I think it will be a lot of fun!!

  2. I’m hesitant to sign up for the Rock n Roll half.. I still can’t believe I’ve gone from couch potato to soon-to-be half marathoner! It does look like it will be a lot of fun though!

Leave a Reply

