Trying New Things!

I’ve been down and out for most of the last month. The frustration with my IT band and my not so great performance at the ScotiaHalf really got to me. So after taking two weeks off from anything exercise or fitness related post half-marathon, I decided I had to do something different. While everyone says that cross and strength training is a necessary component to prevent injury I still didn’t listen. While I did cross-train by biking and ellipticalizing I wasn’t reallllly putting any effort into it – and I did as little of it as possible!

So I decided to start a strengthening program!

I haven’t really done any strength exercises before and had no idea where to start. After googling around for hours (when I should have been researching for papers) and reading all sorts of different blogs and articles about women and strength training and running and the benefits, a lot of what I read kept coming back to this program. So, being on a $0 student budget FREE sounded good to me! And it seems like a lot of people have reaped the benefits of it.
So I’ve just finished week 3. The first week was BRUTAL. Being able to run comfortably for two hours not even two months ago I figured I was in decent shape – but apparently I’m not nearly as strong physically as I am cardiovascular-wise :/ The first week I literally had to roll out of bed each day and it was painful to lift my arms to wash my hair πŸ˜› But that means it’s working, right!?
I plan on following this through and completing all 12 weeks. While I’m not running much these days (only 1-2 times a week for 2-3kms) the runs that I am doing I have zero IT band pain! Only a month ago walking to the train (about 10 minutes) was excruciatingly painful for my knee – but since I’ve been doing all these leg curls and calf raises the pain is gone!
I’ll probably start picking up the running routine again in September when it starts to cool off a bit. I’m just so happy that I may have actually found something that works for my knee!

Anyone else new to strength exercises? What did you find works for you?

3 thoughts on “Trying New Things!

  1. Ooo I did Jamie Eason’s program last year and I LOVED it! I didn’t follow the eating plan and I still noticed huge changes within my body and strength. I really learned to love lifting through it πŸ™‚ Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

